The Metropolitan Golf Writers Association is celebrating its 66th year as one of the game’s most important organizations. Formed in 1952 under the guidance of super promoter Fred Corcoran, the MGWA continues to serve the game by honoring outstanding champions and contributors, promoting golf journalism, and raising money for metropolitan (New York) area caddie scholarship programs.


These initiatives are realized each year at the MGWA’s National Awards Dinner, the largest — and longest-running — golf dinner held annually in the United States. The National Awards Dinner attracts up to 1,000 guests and is actively supported by Golf's leading organizations – PGA of America, PGA TOUR, LPGA, USGA, MGA and top companies such as Rolex, Mastercard and MetLife.


The MGWA has raised more than 1.5 million dollars for Caddie Scholarship programs in the Metropolitan New York area; the MGA Foundation; and the David Marr Memorial Scholarship at the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism.


At each dinner the MGWA recognizes golf’s greatest players, contributors and organizations.  The Gold Tee Award, its highest honor, has been presented to such luminaries as Bobby Jones, Ben Hogan, Sam Snead, Patty Berg, Byron Nelson, Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Gary Player, Nancy Lopez, Annika Sorenstam, Charlie Sifford, Phil Mickelson, and Ernie Els.


Many of the sport’s top journalists and commentators have been MGWA members.  Lincoln Werden, the golf writer for The New York Times during the 1950s and 1960s, was the organization’s first president.  Other members, both past and present, include Dave Anderson, Guido Cribari, Will Grimsley, Arthur (Red) Hoffman, Al Laney, Dave Marr, Jim Nantz, Jimmy Roberts, Nick Seitz and Jack Whitaker.  Anderson, the Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist of The New York Times, is a long-time member of the MGWA’s Board of Directors.


The MGWA National Awards Dinner was originally held each winter at various New York City locales, including the Waldorf-Astoria, Plaza, Pierre and Americana.  Toots Shor’s Restaurant hosted the first dinner on Jan. 29, 1953.  In 1975, the event was moved to the suburbs of Westchester County, New York, and Fairfield County, Connecticut.