MGWA National Awards Dinner



The 2021 MGWA National Awards Dinner was held at

historic Winged Foot Golf Club on

Wednesday, October 6th.




The MGWA’s National Awards Dinner is the longest-running golf Dinner held annually in the U.S. All of golf’s governing bodies — the USGA, PGA of America, LPGA and PGA TOUR — actively support the Dinner, and hundreds of industry leaders, local golfers and golf groups attend. Formed in 1952, the MGWA continues to serve the game by honoring outstanding champions and contributors, promoting golf journalism, and raising money for the caddie scholarship programs of Long Island, New Jersey and Westchester/Fairfield, the MGA Foundation and the Dave Marr Journalism Scholarship at Columbia University. Since its inception, the Dinner has raised millions of dollars for these charitable endeavors.


The MGWA recognizes golf's greatest players, contributors and organizations at the Dinner.  The list of past Gold Tee Award recipients -- the MGWA's highest honor -- reads like a Who's Who of golf luminaries:  Bobby Jones, Ben Hogan, Sam Snead, Patty Berg, Byron Nelson, Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Gary Player, Nancy Lopez, and Annika Sorenstam among others.  Recent Gold Tee Award winners include Fred Couples, Nick Price, Davis Love III, Mark O'Meara, Padraig Harrington and Jim Furyk. The 2021 Gold Tee honoree was world-renowned golf instructor Butch Harmon.