Dave Marr Journalism Scholarship

Dave Marr Journalism Scholarship at Columbia University


Dave Marr’s golf career began at Winged Foot Golf Club, as an Assistant Golf Professional under Claude Harmon.  He later became the Head Professional at Rockaway Hunting Club, and ultimately joined the PGA TOUR, where he won the 1965 PGA Championship and played on (and later captained) the American Ryder Cup team.  Following his golf career, he moved to the broadcast booth where his easy nature, expert commentary and on-camera banter were nothing short of brilliant.


A true son of the PGA of America, Dave meant a great deal not only to the members of the Metropolitan Golf Writers Association, of which he was a long-time member, but to many golfers in the Met area.  So, in conjunction with its 50th Anniversary Annual Awards Dinner, the MGWA established an endowed scholarship at Columbia University’s Graduate School of Journalism to honor our great friend and to help develop sportswriters with a keen interest in writing about golf.  The recipients are known as Marr Scholars and they wear the title as a badge of great distinction and high honor.  Despite today’s changing media environment, our Marr Scholars are not only adapting, but leading and thriving at many of the country’s top media outlets.


Marr Scholars


Graduation Year

Name Current Employment
        2003 Ben Shpigel The New York Times
        2004 Brad Sonneborn FOX 
        2005 Adam Schupak Golfweek Magazine
        2006 Brian Costa WSJ
        2007 Jennifer Vrentas Sports Illustrated and The MMQB 
        2008 Andy Martino SNY
        2009 Chris Kieffer Northeast Mississippi Daily Journal 
        2010 Amy Brittain The Washington Post 
        2011 Amara Grautski SNY 
        2012 Benjamin Teitelbaum Sports Illustrated 
        2013 Michael Bebernes Yahoo! News
        2014 Philip Terrigno Fordham University 
        2015 Charlotte Gibson ESPN
        2016 Brittany Romano Golf Digest 
        2017 Tala Hadavi CNBC 
        2018 Daniel Ynfante WHEDco 
        2019 Wufei Yu Outside Magazine
        2020 Danni Zhou NBC, PT @ the J-School
        2021 Sebastian Tuinder Freelance
        2022 Mason Lieb Freelance
        2023 Patrick Moquien Recent Graduate