About the Metropolitan Golf Writers Association



C.A. “Tony” Wimpfheimer

1928 - 2020


It is with deep sadness that the MGWA announces the passing of past President and longtime member C.A. “Tony” Wimpfheimer.  Tony passed away at the age of 92 on Monday, August 10th in Jupiter, Florida.


Tony served on the Metropolitan Golf Writers Association’s Executive Committee for over 30 years and was the  MGWA’s President from 1992–1995.  MGWA President Dave Donelson said, “Dates and numbers aside, Tony’s contributions to our organization were innumerable. He was instrumental in making the MGWA National Awards Dinner a long-running success and enabled us to impact the lives of thousands of young people.”


Said former MGWA President Chuck Stogel, "Tony was one of my mentors when I was a younger sportswriter just getting involved with the Met Golf Writers many years ago. Tony preceded me as president of the MGWA and continued to serve as our National Awards Dinner chairman; he was instrumental in helping to boost the prestige and revenues associated with the dinner. He was a titan.”  Pat Norton, another former MGWA President, stated, “Tony invited me to join the MGWA Board many years ago and emphasized the importance of the charitable aspects of the awards dinner. I considered him a friend and admired his intelligence, vitality, and enthusiasm.  He contributed much to the MGWA and MGA and will be missed.”


Tony was the Chairman of the MGWA National Awards Dinner Committee for eight years, and his drive and commitment made the Dinner one of the most highly anticipated golf events of the year.  In recognition of his efforts on behalf of both the MGWA and MGA, Tony was presented with the MGWA’s 2012 Winnie Palmer award, which recognizes “an individual who has consistently given their time, energy and enthusiasm to those less fortunate.”


Tony donated much of his time to numerous charitable causes.  His passion for golf led him to the MGA, where he began volunteering on both the Communications and Tournament committees in the early 1980's.  He was instrumental in the creation of the MGA’s acclaimed The Met Golfer magazine and was active on the publication’s editorial board until his death.


Tony’s contributions to the MGWA and Met-area golf were innumerable.  His family has requested that any donations made in his memory be sent to the MGA Foundation, an organization he helped create, at 49 Knollwood Road, Elmsford, NY 10523 (https://www.mgagolf.org/donate).


The Metropolitan Golf Writers Association   


Since 1952, the Metropolitan Golf Writers Association has celebrated the great game of golf by honoring the outstanding players, contributors, clubs and organizations that have done so much for the sport.  These initiatives are realized each year at the MGWA’s National Awards Dinner, and we are proud to say that ours is the longest-running and often the largest golf dinner in the United States.  The MGWA National Awards Dinner has raised more than two million dollars for the Long Island, New Jersey and Westchester Caddie Scholarship programs; the MGA Foundation; the Dave Marr Memorial Scholarship at the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism, and other worthy golf-supported causes.  MGWA contributions from the 2019 Dinner helped fund scholarships for over 650 young men and women in the New York metropolitan area during the 2019-2020 academic year.


At each dinner the MGWA recognizes golf’s greatest players, contributors and organizations.  The Gold Tee Award, its highest honor, has been presented to such luminaries as Bobby Jones, Ben Hogan, Sam Snead, Patty Berg, Byron Nelson, Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Gary Player, Nancy Lopez, Annika Sorenstam, Charlie Sifford, Phil Mickelson, and Ernie Els.  Recent honorees include Fred Couples (2014), Nick Price (2015), Davis Love III (2016), Mark O'Meara (2017) and Padraig Harrington (2018).  In May 2019, the Gold Tee Award was presented to Jim Furyk.


Many of the sport’s top journalists and commentators have been MGWA members.  Lincoln Werden, the golf writer for The New York Times during the 1950s and 1960s, was the organization’s first president.  Other members, both past and present, include Dave Anderson, Guido Cribari, Will Grimsley, Arthur (Red) Hoffman, Al Laney, Dave Marr, Jim Nantz, Jimmy Roberts, Nick Seitz and Jack Whitaker.  Anderson, the Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist of The New York Times, was a long-time member of the MGWA’s Board of Directors.